Channels Management

With the Channels feature in Oneteam admin/users can send a message on a closed set of people. At the same time, members who have subscribed to the channel can chat with each other. Once a user subscribes to a channel, he/she can start sending/receiving messages within the group.

This document describes how channels can be set up and subscribed to.

Before You Begin

  1. You should be signed up on Oneteam.

Setting up a channel

  1. Visit https://oneteamapp.com/ and login with your account.
  2. Navigate to the Channels tab on the left panel.
  3. Click on the button Add Channel
  4. This will open the Add Channel dialog box. Choose the channel type from the following:
  • Public Channel: This is an open channel visible to all users in the Organization who are signed up on Oneteam or who have Oneteam application installed on their device. Users can subscribe to and unsubscribe from this channel if they want to.
  • Closed Channel: The closed channel is accessible only to the users added to this channel by admin. The selected users automatically get subscribed to the channel and they cannot leave this channel at their own will.
  • Limited-Public Channel: A Limited-Public channel is accessible only to selected users added to the channel. The selected users can subscribe to and unsubscribe from this channel if they want to.

Add a Public Channel

  1. In the Add Channel dialog box, select Public Channel as channel type and click NEXT
  2. Enter a name for the channel, give some description and click CREATE

  1. The Channel gets created and is visible in the list of channels.
  2. Users can join the channel by navigating to the Chat tab in the left panel. Here, under Channels click on the Join button next to the channel name.
  3. Users (who have joined the channel) can now start chatting, send images and other files, voice messages, etc. to all the people who have joined the public channel.
    Any time you want to leave the channel, click on the Leave button next to the channel name in the list of channels
Any time you want to leave the channel, click on the three vertical dots on the top right (next to channel name), tap Channel Info which opens a new screen. Here, tap on Leave Channel
Actions on a Public Channel

Any channel's details can be seen by clicking on it from the list of channels. You can perform the following actions on a public channel:

  1. Edit: The name and description of the channel can be edited. Click on the edit icon in front of the channel name. This opens a small window. Edit the name and description and click SAVE.
  2. Deactivate: When you deactivate a channel, it goes in read-only mode for everyone (admin, participants). A channel once deactivated can always be activated again. A channel can be deactivated from the Edit Channel window. To deactivate, enable the button De-activate Channel and click SAVE.
    A deactivated channel is grayed out in the channel list indicating that it is deactivated
  3. Make Channel Read-Only: A channel can be made read-only. With read-only mode enabled, the subscribers to the channel can only read but not write a message. A channel can be made Read-Only from the Edit Channel window. To deactivate, enable the button Make Channel Read-Only and click SAVE.
    At a time you can either deactivate a channel or make it read-only
  1. Delete: The channel can be deleted. Once deleted, it gets removed from the devices as well as the dashboard. On the page where all channels are listed, click on the three vertical dots in front of the channel name and select Delete. A confirmation box will come up. Click DELETE if you are sure to delete the channel.

Add a Closed Channel

  1. In the Add Channel dialog box, select Closed Channel as channel type and click NEXT
  2. Enter a name for the channel, give some description and click NEXT

  1. Select users whom you want to add as subscribers to the channel. and click CREATE. 
    All admins and users will be listed here.
  1. The Channel gets created and is visible in the list of channels.
  2. The users who have been invited by the admin will be able to view this channel in the CHANNELS list available in the Chat tab. They can start chatting, send images and other files and voice messages to each other within this channel.
Any time you want to leave the channel, click on the three vertical dots on the top right (next to channel name), tap Channel Info which opens a new screen. Here, tap on Leave Channel
Actions on a Closed Channel

You can perform the following actions on a Closed channel:

  1. Edit: The name and description of the channel can be edited. Click on the edit icon in front of the channel name. This opens a small window. Edit the name and description and click SAVE.
  2. Deactivate: When you deactivate a channel, it goes in read-only mode for everyone (admin, participants). A channel once deactivated can always be activated again. A channel can be deactivated from the Edit Channel window. To deactivate, enable the button De-activate Channel and click SAVE.
    A deactivated channel is grayed out in the channel list indicating that it is deactivated
  3. Make Channel Read-Only: A channel can be made read-only. With read-only mode enabled, the subscribers to the channel can only read but not write a message. A channel can be made Read-Only from the Edit Channel window. To deactivate, enable the button Make Channel Read-Only and click SAVE.
    At a time you can either deactivate a channel or make it read-only
  4. Delete: The channel can be deleted. Once deleted, it gets removed from the devices as well as the dashboard. On the page where all channels are listed, click on the three vertical dots in front of the channel name and select Delete. A confirmation box will come up. Click DELETE if you are sure to delete the channel.
  5. Add Subscriber: If you want to invite more users to subscribe to this channel, use this option. Click on Add Subscriber, select the users in the new window, and click ADD.

Add a Limited-Public Channel

For adding a Limited-Public Channel, follow the same steps as above (Add a Closed Channel >> Step 1 to 3). At Step #1 choose a Limited-Public channel in the Add Channel dialog box.

The difference being, users who have been added as subscribers need to join the channel by navigating to the Chat tab in the left panel. Here, under Channels click on the Join button next to the channel name.

After joining, users can start chatting, send images and other files, voice messages, etc. to all the people who have joined this Limited public channel.

Any time you want to leave the channel, click on the Leave button next to the channel name in the list of channels
Actions on a Limited-Public Channel

The actions you can perform on a Limited Public Channel are similar to the actions on a closed channel:

  • Edit
  • Deactivate Channel
  • Make Channel Read-only
  • Delete
  • Add Subscriber


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)